top of page

Find a better Angle.

Tonight, I'm sitting at my desk, thinking about a uniquely painful, embarrassing. yet brave moment I experienced one day in Grade 9.


I play a bit of piano, but I'm mostly into composition. Usually, I write lyrics to some of the songs, but I never sing them.


Auditions for the annual Music Gala were coming up and for the first time, I decided to sing along to one of my compositions. It was a brave idea, because I knew I couldn't sing that well. I can sing a bit, sometimes, but not to this song. This song had some low notes, and then high notes, it was a tough song to sing. For some reason, I thought I could wing it. I had not bothered to write the other half of the lyrics, I didn't even memorised the lyrics I did have.


"I can't sing, but I'm doing this to get the song out, not my voice," I had told myself to get myself to audition.


The auditions came, and I sang terribly, mumbling through half of the lyrics.


I walked out of the audition room, hearing comments about my singing.


When I got to the bathroom to change out of the nice outfit I had worn to the audition and into my uniform, the cleaner was mopping the bathroom floors. She saw that I was upset.


"You played the piano well." she said, trying to cheer me up.


"And my singing? " I asked.


"You must practice a bit more."


Yes, tonight I cringe at that memory. Yet, I completely ignore the teenage girl who had tried to do something new.

It is all about perspective.

There are multiple ways and perspectives to look at a situation. For example:


When you get the courage to ask your crush out, and he/she says no; there are two ways to view that:

1: I got rejected. That feels terrible. I'm so embarrassed. I shouldn't have done that.

2: She/ He said no, and although I feel sad, I had the courage to ask. No regrets.


Instead of a failure, it's a lesson.

Instead of embarrassment, it's a milestone.

Instead of rejection, it may be God's redirection, leading you to something new, something that will be better for you.


Keep living. Life is too short to play it safe.








Cover Picture: https://th.bing.com/th/id/OIP.UxK40EaNxepJwJy9JjNzOAHaEc?pid=ImgDet&w=720&h=432&rs=1



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page