top of page

An Important Announcement

I remember two years ago, I was sitting in my room and thought to myself, "Maybe I should start a blog." The very next day, Mariam, founder of the Community of YANA [CYA] called and I was suddenly a blogger! To me, God had answered a prayer, and off we went.


I started with an insert about a painter, how He was painting a masterpiece, and that every mistake we made looked like a mess right now, but the Painter could make it look beautiful. We talked about love, patience, turning 20, and then, talked about change.


I remember the series', projects and events we planned. Our online and in-person poetry event, 'Shakespeare in the Park', trying a clothing collection outreach. Some worked, and others didn't. Yet, the lessons that I take with me are invaluable.


There were bumps along the road. Sometimes, I kept quiet for a while, but in the end, I learnt the importance of consistency. I also learnt to take risks, that it is possible to recover from failure, and not be afraid of trying something new. I learnt to not be afraid to fail. Though I have to constantly remind myself about this.


I enjoyed reading the comments and interacting with each and every one of you. To those who I interviewed, who were open and told their stories, I thank you for your vulnerability, transparency and strength. And to you, every second that you took to read my blogs was an absolute honour. I say thank you!


I think you have realised by now what this blog insert is about. It was an incredibly difficult decision, yet I have decided that this road, for me, has come to an end.


To the team (Lumkile and Mariam), and to those who were with us and left to follow other paths, it is a huge thank you to every one of you.


Especially to the CYA founder, Mariam, who gave me a platform to learn new things, develop skills and explore. Thank you, Mariam, for giving me the opportunity, the space, the time and the flexibility. What you started is what God has used.


To you, fellow reader, I remind you...

You Are Never Alone


with love...

Nomlindi





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page