top of page

Insert 7: What will people say?

The one thing that made me the most hesitant to get this haircut was the possible comments people would make. I'm sensitive, how would I react to them?


Going to church after the haircut was the most difficult part of it all. These are people who are used to me with hair, and it’s obviously going to be a shock to see me walking in bald.


I woke up the next morning, put on my best outfit and went to church.


Surprisingly, most people did not say a thing. They carried on as if nothing had changed. The first person to acknowledge it said, " What happened to your hair?!" I laughed.


I could see that a few people were a bit confused. Some complimented me and applauded me for going ahead with it.


Back to the people that didn’t say anything. I wondered whether I preferred no reaction or some reaction. Did I prefer people who ignored my newly shaved head, or did I want them to say something, to acknowledge the change?


I concluded that it was appropriate if people chose not to say anything. The period after cutting my hair off was an emotionally fragile place. I was in the process of accepting my new haircut, my new look, and I didn’t need the added burden of wondering whether everyone else accepted it too. If someone didn’t like it, then I appreciated that nothing was said to me.


A few family members complimented me, and others conveyed that they didn’t like it very much, but it was all okay.


Remembering what our God-sent barber had said, made everything better,

“If you constantly give everyone else the paintbrush, you’ll never be able to paint your own masterpiece.”



Comment question:

When there is a visible change in your life, would you prefer people to ignore it, or to acknowledge it in some way?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page