top of page

DANGER, GEVAAR, INGOZI!

Updated: Jul 20, 2021

There's this really cool song you've heard before:

"At first I was afraid, I was petrified..." - Gloria Gaynor


This song applies to a lot of us. Personally, I second guess doing things. If I want to try a new activity or go on an adventure, there is always an aspect of danger that causes me to pause, rethink and then, not do it.



So, I came up with this analogy about everyday life.

Think about a hypothetical guy named Steve:


*When Steve drinks water, there is a risk of him choking.

*When Steve walks down the stairs, there is a risk of him tripping and falling (Most of us trip on nothing at all!)

*When Steve leaves the house, his wallet could be stolen.

*When Steve crosses the road, a car could bump him.

*When Steve climbs onto an airplane, there could be a plane crash.

*When Steve decides to go on a cruise, there could be a shipwreck.


There is a 'DANGER. GEVAAR, INGOZI' sign on everything.


Although we want to live life with the least amount of risk, that would not be living, that would be sad.


“Why don’t lazy people ever get out of the house? What are they afraid of? Lions?” -Proverbs 26:13

We might start off afraid and petrified, but look what happens next...





"Oh no, not I, I will survive

Oh, as long as I know how to love, I know I'll stay alive

I've got all my life to live

And I've got all my love to give

and I'll survive

I will survive, hey, hey"



“Young people ,enjoy our youth. Be happy while you are still young. Do what you want to do, and follow your heart’s desire. But remember that God is going to judge you for whatever you do. Don’t let anything worry you or cause you pain. You aren’t going to be young very long.”
-Ecclesiastes 11:9-10

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page